top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Widow Maker

Mobile Vets - A No Brainer

What is it they say, with age comes wisdom…


I like to think of myself as a pretty smart guy and open to ideas and suggestions, however, I have to be shown that they are as good - if not better than what I am presently doing.


I say this because for a year or so I have been kicking around the idea of using the services of a mobile veterinarian.


As you may or may not know, WWL presented a couple of puppies to Can Do Canines earlier this year. Can Do Canines apparently reached out to a Labrador loving veterinarian named Dr. Sandra Soucheray, who operates mobile veterinary services.


As fate would have it, Dr. Sandra Soucheray, a CHPV - Certified Hospice and Palliative Care Veterinarian reached out to WWL to see about obtaining a puppy and suggested she come spend some time with me and meet a dog or two.

As we talked and as Dr. Soucheray explained the advantages of the mobile service, I listened and soaked it all in. Not only was the Doctor a very nice person, but she was also very informative and had a beautiful mobile unit in which to perform her services. I was impressed, to say the least.


It may not be for everyone, but I am telling you it is for WWL.


I have listed some of the items and their values as I see them gleaned from my discussion with the good Doctor.


  • House-Call Vets Mean More Time and Attention from the Doctor

Rest assured that when you receive in-home veterinary care, the doctor’s attention is focused solely on your dog, not any other dogs at the office.


  • Mobile Vet Care Spares Your Dog From a Panic Attack

Most dogs fear to go to the vet. If the car ride doesn’t do them in mentally, there is always the waiting room. By the time they get examined, forget about it.


  • Mobile Vet Care May Also Spare You a Freak Show

You have children, care for elderly parents, have a few dogs in the family, don’t drive, have a health issue, are swamped with work or just need to get a puppy immunized on time — at-home vet care may be a huge stress reliever. If you don't have an afternoon free to take care of a follow-up appointment? Your new Mobile Vet might just do in-home FaceTime follow-ups.


  • Mobile Vets and Euthanasia

It’s hard on anybody, including your vet, to have to watch pet owners say goodbye to members of their animal family at the vet's office. More and more vets are offering home hospice care for dogs, as well as home visits for euthanasia. This kind of medical support can enable you to ensure your pet's comfort in its final hours.


  • Breeders

For me personally it was the opportunity to have all my puppies check-ups done in my home rather than try to coordinate 8-10 crazy - stressed little puppies out in the Minnesota winter while leaving their mother home alone wondering what the heck was going on.


The cost was about the same so it was a no brainer and everyone's lives just got a little saner.


You decide. (Click the photo to go right to Dr. Soucherays website)


Pick a feather!


WWL

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page